Explore MNHolstein

2023 MJHA All-Breeds Convention Recap

   The 2023 Minnesota Junior All-Breeds Convention took place March 17-19, 2023, at the Best Western in Rochester, Minn. This convention is held for juniors under the age of 21 who are passionate about the dairy community and the dairy cow. It was a great chance to meet new people throughout the state that share a common interest. Youth  from across the state of Minnesota gathered on Friday, March 17, for the beginning of  convention—themed Moo-Au. New this year, the jeopardy contest took place Friday afternoon. During dinner, juniors had the pleasure of listening to Dr. Ryan speak about what a day in the life of a veterinarian would be like. All attendees enjoyed activities such as mixers and fun icebreakers, and ended the night with the dairy knowledge bowl test.

 Saturday of convention was a busy day filled with contests, tours, the annual awards banquet, and a dance. Juniors started the day by eating breakfast and competing in contests such as the dairy quiz bowl and prepared public speaking. This was a chance for members to present their dairy industry knowledge. The juniors then enjoyed a luncheon followed by a tour of Sheeknoll Farms in Rochester, Minn. While at the farm, juniors learned about nutrition from Scott Ellinghuysen and showmanship from Paula Bauer. At the convention hall, juniors had the privilege of taking part in two workshops. Here, the juniors learned about embryo transfer, dairy judging, and farm succession planning. Attendees learned so much from these industry-leading farmers!

 Later that evening, members dressed up for the annual awards banquet with keynote speaker Donna Moenning—who has devoted her career to agriculture. She encouraged members to “share their story.” Within the banquet this year, each breed had the opportunity to share any updates and show highlights with the juniors. It was fun to hear from Ayrshire, Brown Swiss, Jersey, and Red and White Holstein organizations. The juniors were then recognized for their hard work with the presentation of awards to the winning production records, dairy jeopardy participants, dairy knowledge bowl teams, and prepared public speaking winners. Alexis Hoefs was awarded the Junior Star award for her outstanding involvement in the MJHA organization. Jacob Schaefer was presented with the Distinguished Junior Member (DJM) award, and Kris Gruenes was presented with the MJHA’s Udder Best award for her outstanding work as a junior advisor for the past nine years. The night was capped off with juniors busting out their best moves on the dance floor.

 On Sunday, the convention wrapped up with breakfast, the business meeting, election of new officers, door prizes, root beer floats, and one big group game of winkem. The 2023-2024 board was elected and is listed below.

President: Kallie Frericks
Vice President: Alexis Hoefs
Secretary: Evelyn Scheffler
Treasurer: Rachel Visser
Reporter: Allison Foss
Historian: Tyler Peters
All-Breeds Liaison: Thad Schlauderaff
Director: Dan Frericks
Director: Hailey Frericks
Director: Tyler Ratka

 The 2022-2023 MJHA board would like to thank all the juniors that attended the convention and hope they had a fun-filled experience. The 2023-2024 board is excited to work as representatives for MJHA in the upcoming year. This year, the 2023 Minnesota State Show will be held in Hutchinson, MN, on June 27-31, and Minnesota Holstein Association’s Field Day will take place this year on July 29, at Olmar Farms, located in Sleepy Eye, MN. All juniors are encouraged to register to network with members who share a passion for the dairy community!

Contest Results:

Prepared Public Speaking Junior Division:
1st place: Alex Schroeder
2nd place: Toben Tibor
3rd place: Aiden Schroeder

Prepared Public Speaking Intermediate Division:
1st place: Shelby Swanson

Prepared Public Speaking Senior Division:
1st place: Rachel Visser

Folding Display Junior Division:

1st Place: Tanner Howe
2nd Place: Austin Howe

Photo Contest Junior Division:

1st Place: Toben Tibor
2nd Place: Brooklyn Holtz
3rd Place: Brooklyn Holtz

Photo Contest Senior Division:

1st Place: Garrett Waldenberger
2nd Place: Garrett Waldenberger
3rd Place: Kamrie Mauer

Quiz Bowl Juniors:

1st place: Team Jersey People, which consisted of Monika Frericks, Lindsey Gibbs, Kamrie Mauer, and Haddie Walter
2nd place: Team Swiss People, which consisted of Matt Scheffler, Alex Schroeder, Mausten Krueger, Mady Wingert, Maggie Wingert, and Melony Wingert
3rd place: Team KKSS, which consisted of Livia Kurth, Briecyn Kurth, Grady Schuft, and Atley Strack

Quiz Bowl: Seniors

1st place: Team Flamingos, which consisted of Tyler Ratka, Shelby Swanson, Rachel Visser, Kayla Visser, and Preston Welling
2nd place: Team Car Crash, which consisted of Dan Frericks, Garrett Waldenberger, Evie Scheffler, Tyler Peters, and Brianna Fitzgerald
3rd place: Team Wright 1, which consisted of Wyatt Glessing, Mason Glessing, Tanner Glessing, and Tyler Turner

Dairy Jeopardy Junior Division:
1st place: Monika Frericks
2nd place: Ashley Mellgren
3rd place: Molly Albers

Dairy Jeopardy Intermediate Division:
1st place: Tyler Ratka
2nd place: Dan Frericks
3rd place: Mausten Krueger

Dairy Jeopardy Senior Division:
1st place: Jack Saemrow
2nd place: Tyler Peters
3rd place: Brianna Fitzgerald

Junior High Production Award:
1st place: Blake Siewart – Hyde-Park Leaded 5359
2nd place: Alex Schroder – Schroeder Abs Princess-Red
3rd place: Alex Schroeder – Schroeder Doorman Toots

Junior Star Award
Alexis Hoefs

High School Senior Scholarship Winners:
Joseph Achen
Alexis Hoefs
Evelyn Scheffler
Tyler Ratka

Junior Memorial Scholarship Winners:
Taylor Fester
Hailey Frericks
Kallie Frericks
Brea Kieffer